Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services News Flash http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl Stay tuned on what happens on your-url.co.uk Anne Wardlaw Dickinson Named "Woman Of The Year In Agriculture" For 1994 Anne Wardlaw Dickinson of Frostproof has been named Florida's "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" for 1994. Dickinson is an innovative and tireless educator and promotor for Florida agriculture, in which she has worked all her adult life. Dickinson's family began buying citrus groves in Polk County in the 1930s. She and her husband, James, then bought the grove property from her family in 1974 and Dickinson soon became involved in all phases of the business. Dickinson first got involved in the citrus business, she realized that she and other women whose families owned groves really knew little about the industry. So Dickinson organized Florida citrus Women in the 1980s to educate women citrus growers. The group took special classes at Polk Community College and went on local and international trips to visit citrus production and processing operations. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=8 Four To Be Inducted Into Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame Leroy Baldwin, Dr. Clarence L. Campbell Jr., Latimer Maxcy and William H. Stuart Sr., will be inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame for their commitment and contributions to Florida agriculture. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=7 Crawford Presents Ag-Environmental Leadership Awards To Six Florida Farming Operations Six Florida farming operations received awards in recognition of their leadership in promoting progressive environmental practices. The first-ever "Commissioner's Agricultural-Environmental Leadership Awards" gives Florida farmers who implemented innovative environmentally sound practices public recognition for their environmental accomplishments. These awards go to modern farmers who are increasingly sensitive to the environmental consequences of their practices, and have made major strides in preserving the earth's natural resources while harvesting its bounty to feed the nation and the world. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=6 Sarah W. Bailey Is Woman Of The Year In Agriculture For 1993 Sarah W. Bailey of Jacksonville has been named Florida's 1993 "Woman of the Year in Agriculture." Since the early 1960s, Bailey has worked with her husband and son on the family cattle and horse ranch, Needmore Land & Cattle Company, located in northwest st. Johns County. She served as a county commissioner from 1984 to 1992 and has been active in numerous agricultural and natural resource-related organizations. She has also been involved in 4-H activities with her three children. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=5 Four To Be Inducted Into Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford announced today that four new. members will be inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame during ceremonies at the Florida State Fair in February. Elton L. Hinton, Dr. J. Wayne Reitz, Latimer H. Turner and George H. Wedgworth will be honored for their lifelong contributions to Florida agriculture. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=4 Five To Be Inducted In Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame During February 9 Ceremonies Four men and a woman have traveled different courses while devoting their professional careers to Florida agriculture. But their professional paths will cross in February when they are inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame. Marshall O. Watkins, John Mortensen, Julia Morton, William T. Loften and Karl B. Albritton will make agricultural history February 9 at the 15th annual Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame banquet during the Florida State Fair in Tampa when their names are etched alongside Florida's agricultural immortals. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=3 Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame to induct four on February 11 Two former state senators, the former president of the Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association and a farmland conservationist will be inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame on Feb. 11, 1992. Curtis Peterson, Edgar Price Jr., Vance Vogel and Edward Jack Campbell will be inducted at the 14th annual Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame banquet during the Florida State Fair in Tampa. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=2 Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame To Induct Four Two former senators with lifelong ties to the cattle and dairy industries, the builder of the Animal Science Department at the University of Florida, and the sparkplug of Florida's Thoroughbred horse industry will be inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame at the 13th annual banquet during the Florida State Fair in Tampa on Feb. 12, 1991. Doyle E. Carlton Jr. of Wauchula, a successful cattleman who served the agricultural industries well as a member of the Florida Senate (1952-1960) and as former chairman of the Florida State Fair Authority. Dr. Tony J. Cunha of Las Vegas, Nevada, who started the Animal Science Department in 1950 and served as its chairman through a period of growth and development into one of the top departments in the United States until retirement in 1975. http://www.floridapressclub.org/cgi-bin/FDACSNews.pl?record=1